warning: array_reverse() expects parameter 1 to be array, null given in /cube/sites/htdocs/nyumc/sites/all/modules/menutrails/menutrails.module on line 65.

Explore our latest issue, featuring the 2015 BLR Prize winners

March 12, 2015

The Spring issue—featuring the winners of the 2015 BLR prizes—is now available.

The winner of the Goldenberg Prize for Fiction, “Autobiography” by Carla Hartenberger—chosen by judge Chang-rae Lee—follows a set of Canadian conjoined twins who must wrestle with the physiology and psychology that both keep them together and wrench them apart.

The winner of the Felice Buckvar Prize for Nonfiction, “I Must Have Been That Man” by Adina Talve-Goodman, was selected by judge Anne Fadiman. In her winning essay, Talve-Goodman navigates college-age independence, her recent heart transplant, and the challenges of compassion when she comes upon a man lying on the side of the road on a rain-drenched night.

The winner of the Marica and Jan Vilcek Prize for Poetry—“Dysesthesia” by Hannah Baggott, selected by judge Major Jackson—is a vivid look at the sensory mayhem of dysesthesia: “I want to know why I am always wanting,” Baggott writes, “why my body is never quiet…”

The winner of the inaugural Daniel Liebowitz Prize for Student Writing is Philip Cawkwell's haunting poem "The Dinosaur Exhibit".

Our honorable mentions winners are:

Fiction: “Bystander” by Jen Bergmark
Nonfiction: “Torso” by Leslie Absher
Poetry: “Damaged” by Colby Cedar Smith

The issue also contains new work from Ted Kooser, Maureen Seaton, Louise Aronson, Carole Stone, and many more talented writers.