BLR Literary Prizes

Submissions to the annual BLR Prizes are now CLOSED.

Thanks to all who submitted. Without writers like you sending us their work, the BLR could not exist. We are excited to read the contest submissions, and delighted by the enthusiasm of the writing community.

The results of the 2018 Prizes will be announced this fall. Your patience and understanding are appreciated.


The annual BLR Prizes award outstanding writing related to themes of health, healing, illness, the mind, and the body. First prize is $1,000 (in each genre) and publication in the BLR. Honorable mention winners will receive $250 and publication.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2017 Bellevue Literary Review Prizes!

Goldenberg Prize for Fiction, selected by Ha Jin
Winner: “Do I Look Sick to You? (Notes on How to Make Love to a Cancer Patient)” by C.J. Hribal
Honorable Mention: “And It Is No Joke” by Conor Kelley

Felice Buckvar Prize for Nonfiction, selected by Ariel Levy
Winner: “Of Mothers and Monkeys: A Case Study” by Caitlin Kuehn
Honorable Mention: “Jacket” by Jennifer Hildebrandt

Marica and Jan Vilcek Prize for Poetry, selected by Kazim Ali
Winner: “Poem For A Friend Growing Lighter and Lighter” by Abe Louise Young
Honorable Mention: “In the absence of birdsong” by Michaela Coplen

These selections appear in the Spring 2017 issue of the Bellevue Literary Review. Learn more about the winners.